Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Fallen Soldier Memorial Scholarship

Post Date:05/15/2018 3:00 PM

Eight young citizens of Elk Grove Village were awarded $1000 scholarships towards their college education at the Village Board Meeting on Tuesday, May 8. The Fallen Soldier Memorial Scholarship, presented by a partnership of the Village of Elk Grove, Friends of the Elk Grove Library, and the Community Character Coalition (CCC) of Elk Grove, is awarded based on the Character Counts pillar of Citizenship.

Typically, the CCC awards four scholarships, but upon reviewing the applications of students, a new member on the evaluating committee, Donna Dickson, was so impressed that she made a personal donation of $4,000 to ensure all eight students received scholarships. The remaining money for the scholarships came from Shinnyo-en Temple and the Friends of the Elk Grove Library.

Congratulations to Jonathan Faughn, Abigail Farmer, Zoe Blomquist, and Ashley Szull from Elk Grove High School, and  Elissa Grace Meitzler, Tyler Mercurio, Blake Dos Santos, and Brandon Yuan from Conant High School. These graduating high school seniors are beginning their college studies in the Fall of 2018.The Village of Elk Grove congratulates all eight scholarship award recipients and wishes them the best of luck in their college endeavors.

Fallen Solider Scholarship Group

Return to full list >>