Click here for Coronavirus (COVID-19) Information and Updates.

Board of Fire & Police Commissioners

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

In accordance with the Board of Fire and Police Commissioners Act (Illinois Compiled Statutes, Ch. 65, Sections 5/10-2.1-3.1), the Elk Grove Board of Fire and Police Commissioners consists of three members. Each member is appointed by the Mayor with the consent of the Village Trustees. Each commissioner is appointed for a three (3) year term with staggered expirations.  Current members are:

E. Butch Ehrke - Chairman
Michael P. Kontek - Secretary
Stephen C. Scholten - Commissioner

The Fire and Police Commission is responsible for (1) screening new applicants for original appointment to the position of Firefighter and Police Officer; (2) testing candidates for promotion; (3) conducting evidentiary/disciplinary hearings when charges of misconduct are filed or when a police officer or firefighter chooses to appeal a suspension imposed by the Chief of a department.

If you have a specific question on any of these items, please feel free to contact the Fire and Police Commission at (847) 357-4038 or email

Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Download Acrobat Reader Flash Player Download Flash Player Windows Media Player Download Windows Media Player Microsoft Silverlight Download Microsoft Silverlight Word Viewer Download Word Viewer Excel Viewer Download Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer Download PowerPoint Viewer