Click here for Coronavirus (COVID-19) Information and Updates.

Property Taxes

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Property taxes are utilized by multiple units of local government for revenue. The Village of Elk Grove is one of approximately 11 units of local government that comprise the typical resident’s overall property tax bill. For property taxes due in 2019, Elk Grove Village accounted for approximately 10% of the overall property bill. As separate, independent units of government, the Village has no control over the other components of a resident’s property tax bill. However, Elk Grove Village continues to retain the lowest combined property tax rate in the northwest suburbs.

One common question regarding property taxes concerns how are property taxes calculated? The calculation of property taxes is a multistep process that involves four distinct areas:

  1. Assessment
    The assessment determines the fair market value of the property. This determination is conducted by the Cook County Assessor's Office.

    From the assessment, the township assessor determines the equalized assessed value (EAV). The equalized assessed value should be approximately 33.33% of the total market value in a given area. In order to ensure that the equalized assessed value of all properties is equal to 33.33% of the market value, the Illinois Department of Revenue may apply an equalization factor to the EAV as determined by the assessor. In 2020, the state equalization factor was 2.9160.

  2. Levy
    The levy is the official request from a unit of local government for the funds it determines it requires from the property tax.

  3. Extension
    The extension is a determination of the property tax rate. Once the County has received all levy requests, it determines the rate that must be applied in order for the unit of local government to receive its requested levy.

  4. Collection
    Once the rates have been applied, property tax bills are sent to each property owner. The taxes are remitted to the County Clerk or Treasurer and dispersed to the various units of local government who are listed on the property tax bill.